RSS

I’ll Catch You, Just Trust Me

18 May

20130518-171852.jpg

We have all played the “Trust Game” at some point in our childhood. The game that was fun in thought, but was absolutely terrifying when you actually played it. You know what game I’m referring to, right? The one where a friend stands behind you, while you fall back into their arms, hoping they’ll still be there when you land. You have to blindly trust your friend, know that they had your back. Literally. It probably was a good way to weed out the bad friends, the ones who let you fall. You also knew you could trust the good friends now, you knew that they’d be there to catch you when you fell, and in the end, you came up laughing and grew closer.

I feel like I am playing the Trust Game this year. At the beginning of the year, I just had this feeling of “This is going to be a great year.” Mom had begun to feel really stressed at one point and I told her that I felt that way. She said, “That’s great. Just keep hanging on to that.” And I have. However, we’re only in May, not even halfway through the year yet, and I have had to trust God blindly more than ever.

I am not one for change. I like steadiness, or at the very least, I like to know when things are goings to occur. I am not flexible. I am a legalistic, black and white, this-is-the-way-it’s-gonna-be-and-ain’t-nobody-changing-it kind of person. I work really well off of checklists. God, however, does not provide that kind of checklist. At our church they have a saying, “The only constant here is change.” Boy, does that resonate in my life right now!

About 9 months ago we moved into a new house. We were all very excited, because each of us got our own rooms (5 kids, including me, in my family.) and we were FINALLY living in the country! Over the years we have moved probably 10-12 times. We were hoping that this is where we’d stay. (Obviously, that is until we got married and/or moved out.) I got blessed with a job I wasn’t even looking for, feeding a senator’s horses and dogs. Everything finally felt normal and steady again.

About 3 weeks after I got the job, Mom told me she wanted to keep me informed on something. The short story is that things have changed with the house and we will have to move again. My plans were that I would have my job over the summer, save up money for a truck and learn to drive so that I could still get to my job when we moved. And then I was informed that I wouldn’t have the job over the summer…

So, basically, we’re just along for the ride, knowing that God has it all planned out, and that we’ll come out stronger in the end. An interesting thing is that, as well as I don’t handle change, I am honestly okay with it. I mean, at some times it tests me, but for the most part, I feel like I am handling it pretty well.

We decided 2013 is the year to learn the valuable lesson of trusting the Lord through whatever He has for us. This year is going to be completely different. Every aspect of it will be different, but we know He’ll be there to catch us when we fall.

What are you learning this year? Are you able to trust Him, no matter the cost?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 18, 2013 in Worldview

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Road Less Traveled

"But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it." - Matthew 7:14

The Journal of a Country Girl

Writing for the Sake of His Kingdom

Lily Mugford

I am a writer, photographer and lover of all things orange.

My Little Book Blog

Book reviews and all things books by Lizzy Baldwin

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Behold, the Lamb!

A Family of 7 Delighting in Serving a Mighty King.

Picture It.

Taking time out of life to look at the normal and abnormal through pictures.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

