RSS

“There may be pain in the night, but joy comes in the morning.”

26 Jun

20130626-095734.jpg

I will write my You Pick posts within the next two weeks, but for now, a thought occurred to me as I sit here moaning because it feels like my jaw could fall to the floor and my head could explode at any moment.

I got braces almost two years ago. I just had them adjusted yesterday and they hurt so bad right now. I am stuck on a temporary diet of applesauce and yogurt, I have a killer headache and my jaw hurts. I realized that my braces are a metaphor, of sorts, of life. How so?

In the same way that a few years ago my teeth were horribly crooked, ugly and unhealthy, our life is like that. Before we were saved through the blood and grace of Jesus Christ, our lives were terrible and dirty and ugly. People, and maybe even us were afraid to look at what our lives were really like.

In the same way that my braces are fixing my teeth in a slow process, carefully turning and straightening them, giving me a new mouth, God is slowly working in our lives. He’s fixing us. Changing our hearts from that ugly state that they used to be in. He’s giving us a new beginning, a beginning to not be ashamed of.

In the same way that when I am in so much pain I am careful to not eat the foods that I know will hurt me, no matter how bad I want them, we need to be careful not to take part of the things that will hurt us, or make us go back to who we were, i.e. sexual immorality, drinking, lying, etc.

In the same way that even with the braces, my teeth would be nothing without Dr. Scott adjusting them every month and my parents paying for them every month, we need other believers to stand beside us and keep us accountable. We cannot do this on our own. We cannot live life without God. It’s impossible.

In the same way that I know that when all this is over I will be sooo grateful for all the pain I endured, we need to keep our sights set on the end results. Yes, there will be pain now, but when it’s all said and done it will be so worth it.

Are you living for the end result?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2013 in Random Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to ““There may be pain in the night, but joy comes in the morning.”

  1. Tirzah

    June 26, 2013 at 11:12 am

    Wow, Aubrey! This is really good! I never thought of braces like that before… gives it a whole new meaning when I go to get them tightened now. 🙂

     
  2. Mrs. Blanchard

    June 26, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    Well said Aubrey! Very wise you ARE! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Road Less Traveled

"But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it." - Matthew 7:14

The Journal of a Country Girl

Writing for the Sake of His Kingdom

Lily Mugford

I am a writer, photographer and lover of all things orange.

My Little Book Blog

Book reviews and all things books by Lizzy Baldwin

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Behold, the Lamb!

A Family of 7 Delighting in Serving a Mighty King.

Picture It.

Taking time out of life to look at the normal and abnormal through pictures.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

