RSS

You Pick Winner: Barefoot and Dirty Days

01 Jul

20130628-142056.jpg

S.E. Bailey from What Say You suggested I write about how barefoot and dirty days of growing up in the country makes for a grounded soul.

The idea of this topic just made me smile. I have to be honest though, I haven’t gone barefoot a lot throughout my life and I have only lived in the country for a year.

I have always loved playing in the mud, provided I don’t get June beetles in my hair like that one time… 😉 I am kinda a sissy when it comes to bugs and snakes. But anyway, I loved to feel the squishy mud in between my little toes. I loved to create things with mud and let them harden. I even have some of them still!

I don’t ever remember being afraid of getting dirty. Now, that doesn’t mean I wasn’t at one time, as I, like almost every other little girl, did go through a short princess phase. I always dreamed of living in the country. I did not care for city life, living in a subdivision. For this very reason the song How Country Feels is one of my absolute favorite country songs. Randy Houser names off just about everything I dreamed to do, or have done.

One of the best times of my life was going horseback riding with my two very country friends. They did some country things that I had never gotten to do before. It was a lot of fun and made me feel at peace. There is something about spending time in the world as God first created it.

So, at this time in my life I don’t know that I could explain how the “barefoot and dirty days” growing up in the country make for a grounded soul. But I know it does. I guess there is something about owning a piece of land that makes you feel safe and secure.

What do you think about country living? Do you like to get dirty? Or are you a city slicker? 😉

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2013 in Just For Fun, On Our Little Farm

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Road Less Traveled

"But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it." - Matthew 7:14

The Journal of a Country Girl

Writing for the Sake of His Kingdom

Lily Mugford

I am a writer, photographer and lover of all things orange.

My Little Book Blog

Book reviews and all things books by Lizzy Baldwin

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Behold, the Lamb!

A Family of 7 Delighting in Serving a Mighty King.

Picture It.

Taking time out of life to look at the normal and abnormal through pictures.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

