RSS

Getting to Know… Me!

11 Jul

20130709-232817.jpg

1. What is your favorite time to wake up in the morning?

Well, I usually fall asleep between 10 and 12. I don’t like to be still awake after 12 because then I start counting how many hours until I have to get up and psych myself out. But, that wasn’t even the question. I prefer to sleep until 10-10:30. I try to be up before 11. It’s funny, when I was little I was a very early riser and we had friends that were late risers. I thought it was ridiculous that they were talking about waking up at lunch time! Well… Now I get it! πŸ˜‰

2. Why do you have long hair?

Haha! I have absolutely no idea. I just have always liked it long. My Mom calls it my Samson hair. Currently it’s growing out from the shortest cut I have had in a really long time. I cut 8 inches off so the perm I got would hold better. Whenever I even gave thought to cutting it I decided not to, because when you have short hair you can’t braid it or throw it in a pony when you go outside.

3. What is my favorite coffee?

Oh. Man. Like, what kind? If I am drinking it at home with just half and half I like something like Cain’s. If I go to a coffee shop I like to go to Mudhouse. Drink-wise, I don’t like black. It’s not the taste really, I just prefer a more creamy texture. At the least I will add milk or half and half. I really prefer iced or blended coffee over hot.

4. What breeds are your horses?

Umm. Currently they are all just mutt horses! Haha! Lady (30, mare) appears to be at least part Arabian. I would guess she also has paint and/or Appaloosa blood. But I really don’t know. Jazzy (15, mare) is obviously a mini or a pony of some sort. She rides the height line of a big mini and a small pony. She also has Appaloosa-like markings, so may have some of that too. Rivver (1 month, filly) again, no idea. She is Jazzy’s foal, so whatever Jazzy is and we don’t know who her sire is. So, yup. Just smorgasbord horses. πŸ™‚

5. If you could only listen to one song for the whole year, what would it be?

Hmm… I really don’t know. I like too many songs to pick a favorite and I don’t like any enough to listen to for a whole year. I would probably pick the National Anthem.

6. When did you learn to do laundry? Who is in charge of it at your house?

Laundry. Possibly my favorite household chore (if I had to choose. πŸ˜‰ ) I don’t really remember learning to do laundry. I remember my grandma on my Mom’s side teaching me to fold socks, then Mom asking who taught me because I did them differently than she did. I also remember being too short to reach the powder detergent at a condo and it falling and getting in my eyes. It hurt so bad! I still can’t figure out an old washer… As for who is in charge of it… Well, we kind of all do our own. I like doing mine, but never have enough for a full load, so I started doing Mom’s for her. I only fold mine though. So, don’t get any ideas. πŸ˜‰

7. What is something you hate?

This is a dangerous question for me. I have always been more of a pessimist and easily annoyed. And the word hate has lost it’s true meaning. So, maybe I should see it like it should be seen and find something I truly hate. I hate it when people use foul, dirty language. The weird thing is, it doesn’t bother me in the same way in movies. It is just annoying then, but in real life I really hate it.

8. What is something you love?

Another strong word which has lost it’s power… I mean, how people say “I love you.” with the passion it is supposed to hold? If we’re talking about the squishy, worldly definition of love then I LOVE my hair being played with.

9. When are you going to write a book?

This actually made me laugh out loud. It pleased me to no end to know someone likes my writing enough to ask me to write a book! The answer is, I have no idea. I have written one. Not published because I started it when I was 11, and looking at it now, if I took out the things I don’t like I would be left with the first chapter… I find that I do better with small, short writings rather than trying to make something long enough to be a book. If I were to write one, what would you want me to write about?

10. What do you think of reality TV?

I have to be honest, right? Well, I actually really enjoy watching TV. And to be honest, I kinda like reality TV too. Now, I don’t think it should be called reality, because most of it is scripted, but it is entertaining! πŸ˜‰ I don’t think it’s always a good idea to watch it though. I think we can get a false view of the world if we aren’t careful. And seriously, shows like Here Comes Honey Boo Boo? Really?

11. Do you to prefer to have one room or to share? What were the pros and cons? How did it effect your relationship with that sibling?

I shared a room pretty much my whole life. Only within the last year did I get to have my own. I have share a room with all 4 siblings at one point or another. I really prefer to have my own room. The pros to sharing: If you aren’t me, you’ll probably get some quality chat time. πŸ™‚ I guess you get used to random noises too. πŸ˜‰ The cons (probably slightly selfish): It’s very hard if you are a Clean sharing with a Messy. Younger siblings tend to get into your stuff and wake up earlier. I guess it depends a lot on personality types. As for relationships. I honestly don’t think the room sharing was the cause of any problems we’ve had. There were lots of problems during, but none that lasted.

12. Do you listen to secular music like Oldies?

No. I really don’t care much for anything older than 2000. I really dislike the ’80’s (sorry, Mom). As for other secular music. I don’t much. Much more now than I used to. My siblings listen to a lot of Pop. It has grown on me, but it’s not my type of music. And there’s really only one theme… Not one I prefer to fill my head with. The only secular music I listen to quite a bit of, by choice, is Country.

13. What is your criteria for the music you do listen to?

Umm. Well, my radio is on Christian Contemporary 24/7, so I don’t give a lot of thought to it. But, like for Country, I don’t listen to songs that have cuss words in them. Drinking I have a little bit more tolerance with because I can kind of ignore it. Any music that talks about sex is out of question.

14. What is your favorite food?

I am really picky. I don’t like tomato sauce, Mexican food, or a lot of veggies. My favorite foods are country fried steak, biscuits and gravy, eggs Benedict, nearly anything with GARLIC. I am a meat and potatoes girl. No soup or salad for me!

15. Do you blog because your Mom makes you or because you want to?

Cuz I wanna! I have loved writing my whole life. I have kept a daily journal since I was 11. I rarely complained about writing a report. I am the only one out of my siblings who doesn’t groan when told to write something. (That’s math for me…) I had a blog a while back, http://www.horseandbuggyals.blogspot.com, but kind of lost interest. This year Mom decide to have the kids each have a blog as their language arts. I wasn’t required to, since I graduated, but I thought I’d go at it again. Writing is one of the few things I actually feel good at. To see the numbers of people reading my blog, and people who appreciate my writing, it gives me the sense that I can do something well. So, long answer short, yes, I write because I love to.

16. What Bible version do you use?

The Bible I own is a NASB study bible. I actually really like it. When I was little I used NIV, but now there are some theological issues with the newer versions. I don’t mind ESV, that’s what my home church uses, but I prefer the wording of the NASB. Both are translated from the original scripts. I don’t care for KJV or NKJV. First, King James made HIS version with wrong intentions. Second, I don’t feel like I get anything out of it because I am too busy translating the old English. One version I REFUSE to use is The Message. I believe that it is wrong. It’s a wonderful example of eisegesis. And it is an illegitimate translation.

17. How do you deal with a crush on a guy?

Well, I won’t deny the fact that I currently have a crush on someone. I also will admit I have had two others. But, how do I deal with them? Each time it has been very different. The first time I was probably 9. I had a crush on the neighbor boy. It was mutual. We hid it the best we could, but somehow my parents found out. I got in big trouble. πŸ˜‰ I was little then and really understood nothing at all. We had held hands and even talked about kissing. We were so 9. The second one was about 3 years ago. That crush came with ALL the emotions. I was confused because I had never felt like that about someone. I hid it for a little while, but ended up asking my dad what he thought of him. Not what I was hoping for. It took me a long time to move my heart along, but I quickly learned he was right and that I needed to trust him. This next one came at a time I wasn’t looking for a crush. Long story to how it came about. This whole time I have kept my parents informed, keeping no secrets. I am seeking their advice and opinions. I know I will appreciate it with whatever comes of it. My advice? Keep your parents involved. They’ve been through this before and can see things you can’t when your head is clouded with emotions. Trust that they have your best interest in mind.

18. What was the biggest moment of your 18 years?

Oh man. How am I supposed to answer this? Well, without Him I am nothing. So, I suppose the absolutely most important part of my life thus far was when I decided I wasn’t good enough for Him. It’s hard growing up in a Christian home, in a way, because in some cases, you grow up thinking you already are saved. Kind of the mentality of, “I was born into this religion and I don’t sin as bad as other people do, so that must mean I am a Christian.” That’s where I was. I “prayed the prayer when I was 5, and claimed I was a Christian. I understood salvation and everything else, but it wasn’t really talked about in our church. We moved when I was 8 and the church we moved into was much better. I still thought I was a Christian. When I was 11 I went on a missions trip to Oklahoma City with my choir. It was during a worship song I had never heard before at a church we visited that God spoke to me in a way that had never happened before. I was torn between wanting to fall flat on my face or jump up and down ecstatically. I had suddenly come to realize how good I wasn’t. But that He still loved me, and not only that but He GAVE HIS LIFE FOR ME. From then on it has been a long journey, with lots of tests and teaching points, but it’s gonna be worth it!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2013 in Just For Fun

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Getting to Know… Me!

  1. Dottie Perkins Halter

    July 11, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    Absolutely love this blog!

     
  2. Ruth Hamilton

    July 11, 2013 at 10:31 pm

    Who cares what your book is about. The way you write, anything would be fine. Write makes you feel happy and I bet you anything people will read it. You are awesome πŸ˜€

     
    • Country Girl

      July 11, 2013 at 10:59 pm

      Oh Ruth! Do you have any idea how happy your comments make me??? πŸ˜€ Thank you so much for your undeserved kindness!

       

Leave a Reply

 
The Road Less Traveled

"But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it." - Matthew 7:14

The Journal of a Country Girl

Writing for the Sake of His Kingdom

Lily Mugford

I am a writer, photographer and lover of all things orange.

My Little Book Blog

Book reviews and all things books by Lizzy Baldwin

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Behold, the Lamb!

A Family of 7 Delighting in Serving a Mighty King.

Picture It.

Taking time out of life to look at the normal and abnormal through pictures.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

