RSS

Who’s Money is it Anyway?

18 Jul

20130718-140819.jpg

Recently, God has been testing my trust in Him with my finances. At 18 years old, and still living at home there hasn’t been much I have had to worry about when it comes to money. I pay for anything extra I want and my horses, but I get off pretty easily because my parents still pay for a lot.

Lately I have decided to start driving (yes, I waited a lot longer than the average teenager, but with good reason.) so that I can get a job when we move in a month or two. Well, I also decided it would be best for me to buy a car of my own as well. So I started saving. Then little Miss Rivver came along and ate all of my savings. Silly horse!

So… I started over. And… My account got overdrawn. First time that had ever happened to me. It was a nice, big mess. I was stressed and confused. The birthday money Mom and Dad had given me ended up going towards bank fees and such. All that and a way overdue pay check has really pushed my limits. I have cried a lot over the past couple days.

I knew that in becoming an adult that there would be adult stuff to handle, but I wasn’t quite prepared for it to happen. I have been trying to figure out how I am going to handle paying for the horses’ food and buying a car so that I can get a job with not as much money as I had planned on having. It seems like every time I turn around something else comes up. I refuse to be in debt, I am trying to start out well and pay cash for everything. I am just trying to figure out how to handle my money the best.

Have you noticed anything wrong with that last paragraph? How many times did I say MY money? That I was trying to handle it? What’s wrong with what I said? WE worked hard for OUR money, right?

The problem is that it isn’t OUR/MY money. So, who’s is it? God’s. It’s God’s money, not ours. He has so graciously given it to us to BORROW. He trusts us with His money. Do you remember hearing the story in Sunday School? The one about the man who gave his servants the different amounts of talents? A talent was a Greek coin that was worth 6000 drachmas. A drachma was a days wage. In todays money it would be about $360,000 U.S. dollars. So, this man trusted these servants with quite a bit of money. Two of the servants were wise with the man’s money. They knew it was his and used it in a way that would benefit the owner. The other man, hid the money, thinking the man would be proud, but he wasn’t. He gave the foolish man’s money to the wiser man with more talents. (Matthew 25:14-30)

We are to use God’s money wisely. God also calls us to give 10% back to him. It’s a very hard thing to tithe when you have no extra money. But we need to trust that He does everything for the glory and advancement of His Kingdom and be obedient in the things He calls us to do.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2013 in Worldview

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Who’s Money is it Anyway?

  1. terishepard

    July 18, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    Praising God for the fact that the mail JUST came in. After you wrote your tithe check.

    When we give from our heart, we become blessed. Not because God HAS to bless us, but because our motives are right. We don’t give to get. But He gives to provide.

    Love you!

     
  2. Ruth Hamilton

    July 19, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    Your posts are always a delight and an encouragement. Your posts are a joy to have pop up in my inbox.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Road Less Traveled

"But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it." - Matthew 7:14

The Journal of a Country Girl

Writing for the Sake of His Kingdom

Lily Mugford

I am a writer, photographer and lover of all things orange.

My Little Book Blog

Book reviews and all things books by Lizzy Baldwin

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Behold, the Lamb!

A Family of 7 Delighting in Serving a Mighty King.

Picture It.

Taking time out of life to look at the normal and abnormal through pictures.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

