RSS

Dear Friend…

25 Aug

20130825-210533.jpg

Dear Friend,

I hope you realize I am referring to you. ๐Ÿ™‚ I won’t post your name, for privacy’s sake, but I think you know who you are. Another comment from you came through my email today. Everytime I see “__________ commented on your post.” I get all giddy. See, I am terribly good at putting myself down. I have a very guilty conscience. It’s rare I ever actually feel good at something.

I remember one of the first times I rode a horse. I was probably about 6. My AWANA teacher learned how much I loved horses and invited me over to her house to ride her horses Pal and Carlos. I had ridden maybe 1 or 2 times before, but never by myself. I was ecstatic. I got to ride both horses, Pal first, then Carlos. When I rode Pal she told me I was a natural. I have never forgotten that. Other people told me that in the future as well, but the first time, by a person I loved and respected, had the most impact on me. (On a short little side note, when I rode Carlos I got in a little trouble. I decided I wanted to go faster! So, I gave Carlos a little kick. Just a little one so nobody would notice. He started to trot. It wasn’t long before the husband was over taking the reins in hand and talking about how naughty Carlos had been. I never mentioned I kicked him.)

That may seem a little off subject, but horseback riding and writing are the only things I have really ever felt good at. Although, I am fairly confident in both, I have MANY days that I don’t feel good at all. It usually happens when I see someone better than me riding, or after reading an excellent author’s writing. Looking back on my own, I feel horrible. I think sometimes that we are also afraid to admit we’re good. We’re afraid that other’s will see us as prideful. Of course, if we aren’t careful, it becomes pride very quickly.

In a roundabout way, my point is that we all still need encouragement sometimes. Just a simple, “You’re good at this.” would certainly suffice! And you my friend, are excellent at this. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll never understand how a random person could make you feel so confident. I don’t even know what you look like, or how old you are, or anything. (I hope you are who you say you are. I believe so, but on the Internet you never know, sadly.) I feel, however, like if I met you that you would be the kind of person who would share an embrace, and neither of us would feel uncomfortable or weird. You have a warm and welcoming personality. You say I am an encouragement to you and that you enjoy my writings, but, dear friend, I think perhaps that you have encouraged me more than I you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your comments typically either bring a large smile to my face (which doesn’t happen often) or tears to my eyes. Haha, in fact, sometimes, when I haven’t written for a while, I think, “Oh! ______ must be missing my posts! She’s waiting for another one! I need to write again for her.” Now, of course, you’re not the only one I write for. I write to hopefully draw people to seek the love I have found in Christ. But you keep me going. I appreciate you.

“May the Lord bless you and protect you, may He smile on you and be gracious to you, may He show you His favor and give you His peace.” -Numbers 6:24-26

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2013 in Random Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Dear Friend…

  1. Ruth Hamilton

    August 26, 2013 at 1:39 am

    I know how hard it is to become a writer. It’s not a showy gift like playing concert violin (I tried that, it didn’t work out) or ballroom dancing. It’s something you have to work away at in secret with very little praise or acknowledgement. It’s tough to stick too, and I think a gift like yours should be encouraged as much as possible. I think it is a beautiful thing, that someone with such a lovely voice, a voice people WANT to listen too, belongs to a person who also has such a heart set after Jesus. You know, you are going to change things with your voice, and I believe you’ll still be changing things in a hundred years time. You keep right on writing. Don’t you ever stop. Regardless of what anyone says, regardless of rejection letters, regardless of how hard it is, you just keep right on writing, because I know you’re going to change the world some day. (PS, I’m only a few years older than you and I was home-schooled too ๐Ÿ˜€ )

     
  2. Trisha Priebe

    August 26, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    Thanks for sharing your heart in this post. You are right that even the tiniest bit of encouragement goes a long way. So I will tell you what encourages me about your blog…your transparency, your humility, and your use of truth to help others. I love the verse you shared at the end and I look forward to reading more of your writing!

    –Trisha
    (Jerry Jenkins’s social media coordinator)

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Road Less Traveled

"But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it." - Matthew 7:14

The Journal of a Country Girl

Writing for the Sake of His Kingdom

Lily Mugford

I am a writer, photographer and lover of all things orange.

My Little Book Blog

Book reviews and all things books by Lizzy Baldwin

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Behold, the Lamb!

A Family of 7 Delighting in Serving a Mighty King.

Picture It.

Taking time out of life to look at the normal and abnormal through pictures.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

